RSS Feed

Birthday Banner

Posted on

I was wondering around a party supply store when I realized that I am so very tired of streamers and regular, boring birthday banners! I looked around online, and flag banners seem to be all the rage. They are also really easy (and cheap) to make!

Materials

Card Stock
Ribbon
Scrapbooking sticker foam
Hole Punch
Scissors

Directions

First, decide if you’re going to use fancy paper or create your own backgrounds. If you’re using paper that’s already printed, then you will need to cut out triangles from your paper and the card stock, and glue them together. I printed my own images directly onto the card stock. It’s really easy. If you would like, I can email you the document that I created to make the flags and letters. Just shoot me an email at SoooBigBlog@gmail.com. If you want to do it yourself, here are the directions.

Step One: Creating a Template
You’re going to need a template for the triangles. You can make this by measuring along the right side of a piece of card stock, and making a tiny dot in the middle (at 4.25 inches). Then, connect this dot with the upper and lower corners to the left of your page. Cut along these lines and you have a triangle template for your flags. There’s a template on the first page of my document, so if you’re working with that, just print it off and cut it out.

Step Two: Creating Backgrounds
I am not great with digital editing software. So, I used Paint and PowerPoint to create backgrounds. It’s really not hard, even if you’re not so techno-savvy. First, create a design in Paint that you like. You can use the lines to make stripes and the circles to make polka dots. You can also create checks by filling the page with a color and then drawing in white squares. The possibilities are endless! If you need a different color than the ones that they offer, click on “Edit Colors.”

After creating a fun image, copy it and paste it into a blank PowerPoint slide. You can just make your image bigger, so that it takes up the entire slide. However, I didn’t like the way that looked. It seemed too chunky to me, and I prefer a smaller pattern. To create this look, paste in the image several times and arrange them within the slide until you had a nice pattern. It will go off of the printable area, which is no biggie. Then, select all (hold down CTRL and hit A), right click, and choose “save as image.” Make sure you’re saving it someplace easy to get to, like your desktop. Open a blank PowerPoint slide, and insert the image. The image will probably be tiny, so you’ll need to make it larger. Again, you will have part of your image outside of the printable area. That’s not a big deal. The important thing is that the entire slide is covered in your pattern. Print off on card stock, and you have fancy paper!

Step Three: Creating your letters
Insert a text box into a blank PowerPoint slide. Type in a letter, highlight it, and right click to edit it. Adjust the font and size; I used AR HERMANN, size 240. Adjust your color to something that matches your theme, and apply any effects that you want, such as shadows. Copy and paste your fancy letter and then change the letters to spell whatever you want. You can put three letters on a slide. Print them onto card stock.

Here is a closer look at the flags and letters.

Step Four: Cut out your flags and letters
Use your template to cut triangles out of the patterned card stock. Then, cut out your letters. I used masking tape to trace a circle around each letter and cut around that. You can also cut around the shape of the letters, or into whatever shape works for you.

Step Five: Punch holes in the corners of your triangles.

Step Six: Attach the letters to the triangles

I used the sticky scrapbook foam for this. I used three layers, because I really wanted the letters to “pop” off the paper.

Step Seven: String your ribbon through your flags

You will need to decide if you want your ribbon in front of the triangles or behind them. I strung the ribbon behind the triangles. The length of ribbon will vary, depending on how long your words are.

That’s it! Easy peasy! I created three banners: Happy, Birthday, and Charlotte. Again, feel free to email me if you would like me to send you the digital file. That cuts out a few of the above steps. Happy crafting!

Have you made your own banners? I would love to hear your tips and tricks!

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

14 responses »

  1. Hi! Just ” clicked” over from the Monday Mingle! GREAT Banner! I am always looking for new “crafty” things to do…thanks!

    If you have the time you should come for a Visit on Wednesday and “Link” this post up to my Scrapbook Hop…

    I wanted to follow you of GFC…signed up for the email instead!

    Cheers!

    Reply
  2. Hi, thanks for attending momday mingle hop. I can’t find your GFC followers so i followed via email. If possible put the followers tab.

    Reply
    • Hi, May!
      I tried installing GFC, but it uses Javascript, which is a WordPress no no. I’ve tried. 😦 If you have any suggestions for making it work, I would love to hear them. Feel free to email me – SoooBigBlog@gmail.com.
      Thank you so much!
      Crystal

      Reply
  3. This is AWESOME!!!!
    Great job!
    MY best friend and you would get along really well!!

    Reply
  4. What a great idea!!! My husband’s birthday is at the end of August and this would be a fun project to do with my kids!!! I love the way yours turned out. What a fun site you got here!! So glad I found you at VoiceBoks! I friend requested you on facebook and signed up for your email.
    Regarding your problems with GFC, I know nothing, but there are a lot of WordPress blogs that use it, I’m sure it you put the quesion up at VoiceBoks someone will be able to help you. It is a very helpful site! Take care!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much! It really was super easy – and I’m sure that kids would love it! (Mine didn’t – but she’s 11 months old and eats everything – LOL!)

      I’ll have to ask about GFC over on VoiceBoks – I feel like I’m missing out!!

      Thanks!
      Crystal

      Reply
  5. what a wonderful banner!!!! thank you for sharing it 🙂

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Five Tiered Cupcake Stand « sooobig

  7. Pingback: Birthday Party Sneak Peak « sooobig

  8. Pingback: Invitation Artwork « sooobig

Leave a Reply

