RSS Feed

Hello world!

Posted on

I am writing a blog. At 4 in the morning. I still get up to pump (my boobies – not iron) in the middle of the night when my daughter sleeps through. So, a good night’s sleep for my husband and daughter still means that I’m up in the middle of the night. . . And now I’m all excited about starting this blog, so I’m working on this instead of heading back to bed.

What is this blog about?  What am I doing here?

I want to write about what’s important to me. I want to share what I’m learning – about motherhood, myself, my family, breastfeeding, food, sunscreen, the planet, and whatever else.

Before becoming a mother, I had no idea what I did not know. Now that I’m someone’s mom (and at 10 months, that still gets me sometimes!), the way that I think about the world has completely shifted. Being a mother has made me want to be a better person. I want to change the world and make it safe and perfect for my daughter.
And your daughters.
And your sons.

I had no idea how much guilt and responsibility came with being a mother. I knew, of course, that I would be responsible for my child. However, I had no idea of the weight of responsibility that I would feel for the big problems, or all of the small, scary ones (What’s hiding in my lotion? Where does lunch meat come from? Is my cell phone really frying my brain? Will television damage my kid’s brain?  The list goes on. . . )

So, if you promise to read, I promise to write about what I’m learning, and what I’m doing – and not doing – to change my world.

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to NewsvineAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

Leave a Reply

